Writing Wins and Woes: Grandparenting

It’s birthday party time! This week my grandson turns one. When I look back over the year, I wonder where this year went. What a blessing Miles has brought to my life. I remember the first week when Miles was in the hospital and we were scared that he might have health issues. Miles was born with the cord wrapped around his neck. Because of the oxygen deprivation, we wondered if he was normal. While he was being nursed back to health, we couldn’t hold him. He had so many tubes and monitors attached to his little body. And what a joy when we finally held him in our arms. Despite all that he came home in 5 days.

Two days after he came home, I spent a week with him and my daughter at their house. It was one of the most exciting weeks of my life. Not only did I bond with my grandson, I bonded with my daughter. We spent time talking, watching movies and sharing Miles. I read to him, snuggled him, fed him and cuddled him. I often slept right beside him. I went with my daughter for his newborn pictures.

In the months following, I have had many opportunities to spend weekends with Miles. I’ve watched him grow from immobile to very mobile. We’ve gone from bottle feeding to spoon feeding, and now he has even started feeding himself. I remember being so excited when he started smiling and now he laughs all the time. He babbles and is on his way to talking.

He used to love being rocked on a chair while I sang him lullabies. Now, he squirms out of my arms so he can chase the dog. He pulls himself up and walks around the furniture. He picks up toys and holds them out for Lucy to grab and sometimes he even throws them to her.

He stacks blocks and puts together stacking cups. He grabs things he shouldn’t, like my glasses and dog fur. He holds out his arms to be picked up. He is just starting to give kisses. Although I do miss the little bitty baby days, I can’t wait to see what comes next. I know it’s going to be a blast! Happy birthday, Miles! Grandma loves you and can’t wait to see what God has planned for you. I bet it’s going to be great.

Leave a Reply

