Writing Wins and Woes: Friendsgiving

Okay, I’m officially old. I had never heard of Friendsgiving until this year when my daughter told me she was having a Friendsgiving Party at her home. Apparently it’s a thing where you celebrate Thanksgiving with your friends. I’m not having a Friendsgiving Party but I am going to celebrate friends on my blog today. Friends are something I’m so thankful for right now.

Without friends and family, this year would have been a nightmare. My friends at our small group stepped in when we were at our lowest low. They gathered around us, offered their support and prayers. Although they might have been the first to judge our actions, they never once did. I remember saying to one of the couples of our group, “I keep wondering if I made the right decision” and they said, “You made the right decision, and even if you didn’t, God is able to work through that.” It was so comforting to me at the time.

Some people let me down during this time. I don’t want to talk about that because that is not helpful to dwell on.  Even those people taught me lessons. They taught me to cry out to God because He never leaves me, even when all others do. If I’m all alone, I will never be alone. God walks the paths with me and when I can’t walk anymore, He carries me. And sometimes we have to learn to forgive like God forgave us.

I want to pay special tribute to one special friend. She knows who she is. All through the hard times, she was there for me. She listened to me. She never condemned me. She had troubles of her own. But she still cared about mine. She sent me cards, telephoned me and messaged me. She was always positive when I was most negative.  She’s even dearer to me because we’ve been friends since high school. Make new friends, but keep the old. One is silver and the other’s gold.

Old friends are the best. I have a friend I met in college. My first orientation day she came up to me with her cheerful smile. I didn’t know anybody. I was alone, but suddenly I had a friend. She’s dealing with cancer now and she’s still my dear friend. Although she is suffering, she takes time to encourage me. She sends me home made cards and uplifting messages. She is an amazing person who is always laughing even through her pain.

I have friends for all occasions. I have church friends, writing friends, work friends, family friends, old friends and new friends. I’ve had friends for a season that came and went. I’m so happy I’ve met each and every one of them.

I’m so thankful for all my dear friends. I may let them down. They may let me down. The measure of a true friend is not perfection. Friends love us through our faults and our failings. Happy Friendsgiving, dear friends. May you be blessed as you have blessed me.friends

Leave a Reply

