Writing Wins and Woes: More things to be thankful for

Happy Veterans day to all! I certainly am thankful for those who served and still serve our country. I am proud of all who put put their lives on the line to protect us. But speaking of those who put their lives out there to protect us, I can’t help but think of family.

I always thought of our family as a close family. My mom is my second best friend, next to my husband, and my children have always mattered more in my life than anything else. Now, my grandson is such an important part of my life. Then, last year something happened to turn my life around.

My youngest daughter moved to Iowa. It was the hardest thing I ever had to walk through. But it reinforced the idea to me that family really means so much to me. Whether far away or close by, I need my family. I need their love, support, loyalty and humor to keep me going, and I’m hoping they feel the same way about me. We’ve gone through some hard things and there are still some hard things to come.  But with the strong cords that bind, we are sure to pull through. Thank you, Lord, for giving my family to me.

the-three-of-them6921419papaw-and-miles-holding

Leave a Reply

