Writing Wins and Woes: A Tribute to Mothers

It feels really good to be embarking on a new series. I’m really excited about this one, because it involves mothers and I love my mom and I love being a mom and the whole topic of writing mothers, which I’ll explore in later blogs is very intriguing.

My first part of the series comes from an idea from Juni Desiree’s blog. She is compiling a book about moms and our relationships to our moms and suggested writing a letter to our moms. So I’m taking up the challenge. Without further ado, here it is.

Dear Mom,

I want to write this letter in a more public way because you have been such a guiding force in my life. From before I remember, you’ve taken care of me in many more ways than physical ones. You gave me emotional guidance and spiritual wisdom. Even before you became a Christian yourself, you sent me to Sunday School, wanting to make sure I had a faith in God. After you came to know God, you took me with you, where I first came to believe in Jesus Christ in a personal way. You’ve encouraged me in every way possible to be a better Christian, not by being perfect, but by weathering the storms and still clinging to your faith and teaching me to do the same.

You were there for me when no one else was. In the early years, when we didn’t have dad, you were mom and dad to me. Don’t ask me how you did that. Somehow you did. Despite working all day in a hot and dirty foundry, you took time every day after school to talk to me. In fact, I don’t remember a time when you refused talking to me even when you must have been exhausted from your day. More than that, you provided for my needs and even most of my wants. You helped me make better decisions in my life and taught me right from wrong.

You helped me be the writer and story teller I am today. You often shared with me stories of your childhood. I loved to sit at the table with you and listen to those stories. You wrote some down in a book and I thought, I want to write books like that, too, and so I wrote my own stories. Not everyone is blessed with a story telling mom. I was.

You love me. I don’t know why, but through all the mistakes I continuously make, through dramas in my current family life, through arguments we’ve had through the years, you continue to love me. I know now, being a mom myself,1548 that’s what mothers do. Still, it’s a hard road to follow. You didn’t waver from it. You never stopped loving me.

I know you’ve told me, you thought you made a lot of mistakes in life raising me. I’m sure there were mistakes. I don’t remember them. I only remember what a great mom you were and are. You are my inspiration, my guardian angel and one of my best friends. I hope and believe I’m one of yours too. Thank you, Mom, for making the world a better place to live in. Without you, it would be empty.

Love you with all my heart,

Your daughter, Shari

3 thoughts on “Writing Wins and Woes: A Tribute to Mothers”

  1. Dear Shari,
    As I’ve said before you give me way too much credit but I do appreciate your loving words especially in such a public way. Looking back thru the past and in the present I have to say that the daughter you were and are encouraged me to value our relationship as a precious gift that keeps on giving. The greatest blessing has been the faith we share in our Lord Jesus Christ and the prayers we have shared with and for one another. You have encouraged that faith in your own children and together we pray for yet another blessing, your first grandchild and my first great grandchild. For all of these things, I thank you, my daughter, my friend, as we give the glory to God. I love you dearly. Happy Mother’s Day to you

Leave a Reply

