Writing Wins and Woes: Spring Cleaning your Writing Life

I can’t believe I am on part 3 of this series. I didn’t really anticipate this series lasting more than one session, but here I am again. I am always trying out new cleaners and cleaning gadgets. I clean a school and a church and I’ve invested more money than I should in trying to combat different cleaning issues. One thing you have in cleaning a school is smelly bathrooms. I’ve tried Fe-breeze, Mr. Clean Foaming Spray, a mixture of vinegar and lemon juice and some baking soda and a lot of blue toilet bowl cleaner that is similar to the Lysol brand. I also get very frustrated with window cleaning at my church. We have big door windows and I finally found the perfect window cleaner; Invisible Glass.

The point I am making is to be a successful cleaning person you have to do your research and this works with writing too. I actually like the research aspect of writing. I do most of my research through the internet. I love looking up things and learning new things. This is why I really enjoy writing articles for Guardian Angel Kids.

There is more to research with writing, however, than just information for a story itself. There is researching publishing companies, story themes, anthologies. Because so many stories are rejected, I am always looking for another place to send a story. Usually, it works this way. Write a story, send a story, get rejected, edit the story again to improve it, send the story to another place. I’ve sent stories out more than five times. Eventually I will give up if it’s too many times rejected.

What I am weak at is actually learning through interviewing. I am not a people person. Most writers really aren’t. I tend to be a wallflower at parties and find myself awkward in society. While I really enjoy talking to individuals and learning about their lives, I lack the social skills of introductions, so I don’t really meet a lot of people. I need to improve in this area.

Unfortunately, and I don’t know why, but my novel is a science fiction story. I don’t really have a lot of science background and it’s proving difficult to seem knowledgeable about what I’m writing about. That’s why I prefer writing fantasy.

So far this week I’ve done well with my goals. I’ve made it through all the first three day goals. Today is day four and I’m not sure what I’ll be able to accomplish. Hopefully, more than this blog.

Next week, I will finish this series and have a book review. Next month starts a new series on mothers. I’m not sure what direction I’m going with that. Have a great writing week.IMG_1597

 

 

One thought on “Writing Wins and Woes: Spring Cleaning your Writing Life”

Leave a Reply

