Writing Wins and Woes: The 5 Minute Challenge

Do you feel like your writing life is lagging? Inspiration is needed. I certainly do. I’ve decided to take the 5 minute challenge. If any of you have ever seen the movie, “What About Bob” you’ll understand what I mean when I say, Baby Steps. You can’t always take giant leaps of faith. It gets overwhelming and daunting and you give up. I know I do. So you start small. Baby Steps.

I had a lousy writing week. I had legitimate excuses. Due to a tragedy at work, I had to take on extra hours. I worked day shift one day, which is prime writing time. Then I worked every day this week. Excuses aside, everybody manages to make time for what they really want to do. I didn’t write.

So I am starting the 5 Minute Challenge. I’m going to write 5 minutes every day. It’s laughable, I know. What do I expect to accomplish in 5 minutes? I don’t know. I may write more than 5 minutes. I may not. I encourage any reader I have out there to take this challenge with me. Write anything. Write a poem. Write a letter. Write in a journal. Just write.

Next week I’ll let you know how I did and what I wrote. Then I’m going to add another challenge; maybe increase the time or something else. Whatever I do, I hope you’ll join with me and challenge yourself to write.

And please read my article, published today in Guardian Angel Kids on River Horses. What is a river horse? You’ll have to read the article to find out.

044

One thought on “Writing Wins and Woes: The 5 Minute Challenge”

Leave a Reply

