Writing Wins and Woes: The Stats and Here’s to Starting the Year off Right

Yes, here I am again for my second blog of this year. Because this is a new year, I thought about blogging my writing resolutions for the new year but due to many things, I haven’t made any yet. Last year’s resolutions were abysmal. So, I want to do better this year. Hopefully, my next blog will be about my writing goals for the year.

So, instead of resolutions, I am posting stats for 2015. My stats were definitely lower last year. This was due to wanting to move forward on getting my children’s book published. However, I did not achieve that goal. I remember blogging in the beginning of the year about submitting less and focusing on the book  and saying something to the effect of “I hope I don’t find that I end up earning a lot less writing money and not publishing the book either” and that is pretty much exactly what happened. Why? A lot of my problem is that I am a Charlie Brown writer. I’m wishy washy. I couldn’t make up my mind where to submit my book. I did try a few places. I couldn’t decide if I wanted to get an agent. I did try one. (Boy, that’s a big effort.) I couldn’t decide if I wanted to self-publish. I bounced back and forth on that and finally decided to continue agent-less and not self-publish. So far, that’s not gotten me anywhere. I don’t know what this year will hold in that area. Now, for my stats:

Stories Submitted for the year: 24

Stories accepted: 7

Stories published: 8 (That discrepancy is due to one story that was accepted in 2014 but not published until 2015)

Stories Rejected: 13

Stories still in limbo: 4

Being the terrible mathematician that I am, I think that this means that I have a 29 percent acceptance ratio, which is pretty good for writers. Of course, some of that is because I tend to submit most to where I think I have the best chance of being accepted. It is good anyway, and I’m happy with it, even If I didn’t submit as much last year.

For other good news, I was accepted again in Guardian Angel Kids for January. Find my article on fudge here.

I’m looking forward to seeing what this year holds for me. I am keeping on. Keep on with me.422

4 thoughts on “Writing Wins and Woes: The Stats and Here’s to Starting the Year off Right”

    1. I’ve heard some criticism of my method; I guess the old adage quality vs. quantity. Some say it doesn’t appeal to publishers to see a bunch of now profile credits but it is a way to earn money from writing.

Leave a Reply

