Writing Wins and Woes: Frozen Fairy Tales

Happy New Year, everyone! I’m back. There are times I wondered if I would be. You may not know it but there are times when I don’t want to sit in front of this keyboard and do yet another blog for an invisible audience. In fact, sometimes I wonder if there is an audience at all. Even so, I write often for myself, for a cathartic experience. I blog, therefore, I am.

Today, however, I am not tooting my own horn. I’ve spent the past few months, reading among other things a wonderful fairy tale book called Frozen Fairy Tales by a host of gifted writers and edited by Kate Wolford, who has the Enchanted Conversation website. This year Kate will again be conducting writing contests, so give her website a view if you have a hankering for writing a fairy tale.

Now for my review:

Here are some of my faves from the book. The first story is called “The Stolen Heart”.  Winter has stolen Summer’s heart so his daughter the Summer Princess must retrieve it. She doesn’t relish traveling into the cold recesses of winter’s terrain. Will she lose her heart to winter?

“Faithful Henry” is a princess and frog story with a twist, but this frog wants more than just a kiss.

“Buffalo Wings” is a very creatively told story about a never ending blizzard in surprise, surprise, Buffalo, New York. This story is both comical and entertaining with its share of winter elves, enchanted doors, and an evil king.

“Cold Bites” is a tooth fairy story, but it’s not for children. Timmy helps an old lady through an avalanche. He’s tempted to steal her bag of gold, which is not what it seems. He ends up richer for being honest in the end.

“Shard of Glass” is an Snow Queen story gone bad. This story does not end well.

One more: “Simon the Cold”. Giving a coffee to a homeless man leads to surprises. Halley finds that she has the gift of seeing, which leads to adventures.

These stories are all well written and I recommend it. You can purchase it on Amazon here both in print and Kindle edition. Happy reading.1072

One thought on “Writing Wins and Woes: Frozen Fairy Tales”

Leave a Reply

