Writing Wins and Woes: Keeping it Brief

627

This is going to be a brief blog. I did some research on my absolute favorite author of all time, Henry James, but haven’t given it the amount of attention I want to, so hopefully that will be the subject of my next blog.

This blog will be a bit more personal. First off, I want to include a link to my new story Her Stepfather in Timeless Tales. This was one of the few stories I wrote during my dark period, I’m calling it. It’s no secret that I went through a difficult time this Summer and early Fall with my daughter’s move several states away. I experienced emotions even I don’t completely understand, but they were akin to the grief you experience when someone dies. Like I said, I can’t totally explain this. My daughter is alive and well and very happy, but my state of mind was the exact opposite of hers. I have been desperately unhappy and trying to make my way back. I felt like my reason for living was cut like the golden cord of life. Nothing, and I mean absolutely nothing in my life held any interest for me except my daughter and she didn’t need me anymore. It was hell on earth. Like I said I’ve been trying very hard to find my way back . I’ve been writing again, mostly articles for the children’s magazine I am often published in and my blogs. I haven’t been up to returning to my novel. That is the background for why I wrote this story, which is very dark. I’ve been in a dark place and all this pain poured out of my soul into my writing. I know that I have to go on and find new things to make my life happy, but to be honest I’m not sure what they are yet. As a result of the circumstances of my life, I’ve run the gamut of emotions. I’ve felt isolation, rejection, betrayal and extreme sadness.  However, I’ve always been a believer in making my own happiness, so I’m going to work hard at this. Will there be light at the end of the tunnel? I don’t know. Hopefully, it’s not as dark there as it is here.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Writing Wins and Woes: Keeping it Brief”

  1. Sorry to hear you’ve been having a tough time lately. I think it’s good that you’re channeling those emotions into a story. Might help you to work through them if you get them down on the page.

Leave a Reply

