Writing Wins and Woes: When the win comes…

black catOkay, It’s not Friday but I’m so excited to share my news that I am breaking with tradition. I had a story published at Aurora Wolf. My story is called Black Roses and it features one of my husband’s fantastic paintings. In fact, I used the painting as an inspiration when writing the story. Here is a link to the story:

http://aurorawolf.com/2015/10/black-roses/

The story has a black cat in it, hence the reason for including a picture of one of my daughter’s sweet new kittens. So: say hello to Sirius! Sirius is named after a character in the Harry Potter books. The cat in my story is Jasper. My daughter’s cat was adopted from a local humane league where she lives. Kudos for his adoption because black animals have a harder time being adopted than other colors for some reason.

When the win comes, I tend to be happy. I am suddenly filled with inspiration and just itching to write and publish again. This is how it works. We tend to get motivated by successes. What about when there are no wins? Well, we slack off. Before this win, aside from Guardian Angels Kids, I hadn’t had a publication since last year. That’s a long time to wait for validation. Now, besides this story, I have one coming up in Timeless Tales. Yay!

When the win comes…I need to use the wind generated to sail, but I also need to keep sailing even when there is no wind. I can’t let circumstances or events of my life to stop me from achieving my goal.

When the win comes…It’s time to celebrate, but it is also a reminder that publication can’t be obtained without writing, whether the win comes or not.

One thought on “Writing Wins and Woes: When the win comes…”

  1. Congrats on the publication! That’s great! I haven’t read it yet, but I hope to after I get my current story out the door.

Leave a Reply

