Writing Wins and Woes: Shh, I’m currently working.

IMG_1418Yes, I am writing again, just not in a big way. But I’m writing. Pats on the back! Yay! I started a new story for an upcoming submissions window. It’s a fairy tales website.  Here’s the link to it if you fancy writing a unique kind of fairy tale.

http://www.timelesstalesmagazine.com/#!submissions/c1vmu

So, I’ve only written about 300 words toward my story. That’s okay. I got an idea. I haven’t had one in quite a while and I’m pursuing it. I also realize that sometimes we have to take baby steps.  Babies don’t immediately stand and do cartwheels. They heave up, steady themselves against things, then stand a bit on their own, they wobble and they fall. I’ve been doing a lot of falling lately. That’s okay. Falling is a part of walking.

I recently read a pictorial biography of Laura Ingalls Wilder. She was  65 when she published the first of her Little House books. 65?!!!!! What! Yeah, that’s right. Now, I’m hoping I get to have my first book published before 65 but this goes to show that it’s never too late to be an author. You’re never too old. Are you retired? Write. Social security? Write. Are you working hard at a menial job? Write.  Even if it’s 300 words, write. That’s what I’m going to do.

One thought on “Writing Wins and Woes: Shh, I’m currently working.”

Leave a Reply

