Writing Wins and Woes: I heart Kindle

WIN_20150515_131740I gave my husband a kindle fire for Christmas. To be honest, I found them to be gimmicky, but my husband was always on my laptop and it was cutting into my own viewing/writing time. I figured why not give him his own personal little TV. I didn’t expect to be so wowed by kindle. A month later I found myself the proud owner of a kindle fire as well. This little guy packs a lot of bang for the buck.

What do I use it for? I use it for: email, reading, watching movies, surfing the web, studying, shopping, preparing for dinner. There’s very little I don’t use it for. I even use it in church in place of a Bible. Wow! I heart Kindle.

What’s this have to do with writing? Well, here are some ways to include your best friend Kindle when you write.1. Write down your story ideas on notepad.2. Write down stories on a word processing app. There are many of them and lots are free. Kindle can be stuffed into your purse, or man purse (guys) on the go so you can write whenever you want. Much less space than a laptop. 3. Read, read, read. The kindle was, of course, invented for reading. I love reading on kindle. I can book mark my page, but I don’t have to. The kindle remembers where I read last. I can read in the middle of the night without disturbing my husband.It has a fabulous light.  I can see exactly how much of the book I have left to read. To date, I have read three books on Kindle this year. I am currently 58 percent done with the Jane Yates book, Garden.  A side benefit is that my collector husband can collect books on Kindle and it doesn’t bother me a bit. It just goes into the Cloud. It doesn’t even take up space.4.  Research. Researching on the web is super easy with Kindle. I have a silk browser. It works great. Kindle even gives me a reading view so the words are bigger. Yay!  5. Listen to music while reading, writing, etc. Some of us just need the mood music to turn on our writing juices. I have prime, but youtube is just as good for listening to music, or really any music app will do.

So, what can a kindle do that a laptop can’t? Probably nothing. However, good things come in small packages and the Kindle fire is a little thing that packs a wallop!

One thought on “Writing Wins and Woes: I heart Kindle”

Leave a Reply

