Writing Wins and Woes: I love to tell the story

1269

Some of my favorite memories as a child center around my mom sitting down with me telling me stories from things that happened to her when she was a child. Some of them were pretty disturbing; some were funny; some were sad but all of them were interesting. I think my interest in writing began from being told stories when I was small.

When I grew up I told stories to my children. I love to tell stories, both oral and written. When you tell a story you transport yourself and your listener to another world. Sometimes the world is real, when they are true and historical. Sometimes the stories are fantasy. Whatever and wherever they are they fuel the flames of creativity in a writer’s mind. I’m so thankful that I had a story telling mom.

Ryan Lanz had an compelling blog this week. It was all about letting your children tell you stories. I never thought much about this angle of story telling before but it sure is a great idea to let your children’s creativity and genius start as early as possible. Kids love to hear stories and they love to tell them also. I remember playing with my youngest daughter and she imagined a whole world out of Littlest Pet Shop. Those were stories. Now she is a writer. It’s exciting to think her roots began in our play time. Here is a link to Ryan Lanz’s blog. It’s very thought provoking.
http://ryanlanz.com/2015/05/06/why-you-should-encourage-your-children-to-tell-stories/

Do your passions burn brightly for something? Tell the story. The whole world is dying to hear.

3 thoughts on “Writing Wins and Woes: I love to tell the story”

  1. Great post! I loved reading about how the passion of storytelling transcended the generations of your family. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

