Writing Wins and Woes: What kind of writer are you?

party day 170

Am I a story writer or am I a poet? Do I write children’s picture books or middle grade fiction? Do I write Christian fiction or fantasy? Do I write allegorical or straight forward? I don’t know, because when you’re a writer, you write. When an idea comes to me, I just write it. I love children’s stories, but I like to write for adults, too. I am a Christian writer, so I write Christian fiction. I hate being put in a box, but I’m told if you don’t specify it could take much longer to become a writer who sells. People like to read certain genres. Some people like fantasy; other enjoy literary; still more like YA.

What to do? I’ve always followed the advice of writing from the heart. My passion is to write. The more I focus on the selling aspect of it, the more it becomes just a job. I hate jobs. They suck up my time, my energy and they don’t give me satisfaction. But jobs do make money and money is needed to live.

I don’t care what kind of writer I am. I’m not going to focus on that. I’m just going to write.

For those who don’t know I am also a poet, here is a link to two of my poems just published at Page and Spine. Poetry was actually how I started out in my writing to be published career. When I found it hard to publish poetry I moved on to stories. Hope you like these:

http://www.pagespineficshowcase.com/the-reading-lamp.html

By the way, these paintings I included were done by my lovely daughter proving that artistry runs in the family.

6 thoughts on “Writing Wins and Woes: What kind of writer are you?”

  1. Thanks for sharing your poems. I especially enjoyed The Bend.

    I mostly write science fiction and fantasy for adults, both short stories and novels. I find my writing style tends to change between the two formats. In short stories I tend to be more lyrical and in novels, more straightforward.

    I’m not a big fan of other genres or age categories, but I’m like you. I don’t believe in limiting myself. Maybe one day I’ll write something completely new.

  2. This has always been a question I’ve wrestled with, too. As I’ve gotten older I’ve focused much more on literary criticism and scholarly writing, but I still have a soft spot for short stories and poetry. I think that it would be too boring to pick just one box, and honestly a bit unrealistic. As writers we are meant to pay attention to the world and how we fit into it, so it makes sense that we might write in several different forms.

Leave a Reply

