Writing Wins and Woes: Winter’s Angry Roar

winter 2015 March 029

I sometimes wonder what winter thinks it’s doing when it rears its ugly head in March. Just when I was thinking daffodils and hyacinths, it dumps a foot of snow on us. We’ve had more cold and snow than our share these last months. I haven’t even seen one crocus this year. The weatherman said it was winter’s last gasp but after a foot of snow, I recognize it for what it is; an angry roar.

What does this have to do with writing? Well, my writer’s soul has been wintering lately. I’ve felt myself huddled up, secreted away and forsaken. Despite my writing goals, and I have been writing, I’m not feeling it with my writing. I’m lacking a lot of motivation, and I’m really struggling. Although I’ve had a publication in my ever faithful Guardian Angel Kids. See it here: http://www.guardian-angel-kids.com/03-015-3Dflip/index.html
I’ve also had two rejections; one from Daily Science Fiction and one from Cricket, which makes me feel, need I say it, mediocre.

This is something every writer agonizes with; to keep going despite insurmountable odds. So, here’s my quick tips to keep writing despite disappointments and distractions:

1. Write for a theme. Sometimes I can’t for the life of me come up with one lousy idea on my own until a magazine says write on this theme. Then, I say Ahhh, I think I’ve got it.

2. Use writing prompts. Writings prompts get the juices flowing.

3. Read all/most of what you’ve written last. If I’m working on a novel, sometimes reading a good portion of it makes me think what to write next.

4. Work on something new. Let’s face it. We’re all out with the old, in with the new. Sometimes the old is boring, so writing something new motivates us. After you’ve been away from the old for awhile it may become new again.

5. Meditate. When I meditate I often come up with writing ideas or the next part of my manuscript.

6. Write those random thoughts down. Whatever they are, you are at least writing.

So beat winter’s angry roar with a roar of your own.

2 thoughts on “Writing Wins and Woes: Winter’s Angry Roar”

  1. Over in Australia here, we are having the opposite: a really long Summer! I actually can’t wait for Winter 🙂 I also believe I would need writing prompts to come up with new ideas at this stage; it’s why my blogs have been occurring less frequently. I only write posts when I’m inspired :S

    1. I don’t think you’d want more winter if you’d had the kind we had. Many many nights were in the single digits, but then again, I don’t know much about Australia’s temps. Have a happy season whatever it is.

Leave a Reply

