Writing Wins and Woes: The Importance of Journaling

441

About a month ago I posted new year’s goals. Among the goals was writing every day. Part of the writing I included journaling. Why is journaling so important to a writer?

The first reason is Duh! It’s writing practice. When I’m journaling, I can write random thoughts, information, anecdotes, events, pretty much anything I darn well please. It’s very easy writing. I don’t intend to publish it, so I can write without pouring over the contents. I can journal a thousand or even two thousand words a day easily.

The second reason is that it’s fun to write. Journaling is a lot of writing about myself. Let’s face it. I love to talk about myself. If you’re honest, you do, too. I do have a blog after all. When I’m journaling, I talk often (maybe mostly) about myself.

It’s free spirited. When I journal, I’m free to say whatever comes to mind. No one is going to see it unless I want to show it to them. I can whine. I can complain. I can exaggerate. I can go on and on and guess what? No one gets bored. Nobody else is reading it but me.If I bore myself, I switch to a different subject.

It can inspire me. Sometimes when I’m journaling, I come up with some writing ideas. In fact, it should. Here’s where work and play can intermingle a bit. A genius story line might result just from writing random thoughts.

Lastly, some day it might be fodder for a biography. Yeah, I know I’m thinking big here, but you don’t have to be a celebrity to write your story. You can do it for a writing magazine, (or any magazine for that matter) or a book. If you have a unique life,( and who doesn’t?) your life story is interesting to read.

So journaling can count much more than just the words it contains.

One thought on “Writing Wins and Woes: The Importance of Journaling”

Leave a Reply

