Writing Wins and Woes: The Real Deal

church and home 020

What is the ultimate goal for a writer? A published book, of course, and after that another published book, and another. Maybe then we have a goal to win an award, to make lots of money, to have a bestseller, etc, etc. The list doesn’t really end, does it? It continues to the next thing. I remember in my early writing days. I just wanted to be a published writer. I’ve achieved that goal. Then I wanted to have an actual book. Now I have four anthologies. Okay, not books exclusively by me, but books I hold in my hand. Now my goal is a book by me, just by me. None of these things will ever totally satisfy me.

Why? Because my first priority has to be to walk the path Jesus has for me. My citizenship is in Heaven, not on Earth. So, my true goal has to be Christ and Him alone. I never intended my writing blog to get preachy. This is a writer’s blog, but I want to remind myself and remind all of you not to put your hopes and dreams in something that will ultimately never satisfy.

That being said, I do continue with my dream of publishing a book. I’m not giving up on that. I just don’t want to kid myself. I know once this is accomplished, it will feel wonderful at first, and then it will feel a little empty. Only if I keep my focus on what brings true peace and happiness, will I be content.

So, I took the first step. I sent a query letter out to an agency to represent my picture book. It was scary. Especially since right there on their website it said, “We receive 10000 queries a year.” Wow. I don’t know if I’ll even hear back from them at all as the website also said, we’ll let you know in six weeks if we are interested. However, you never hear back when you don’t send at all. So…there is always hope.

Happy Valentine’s Day. Take some time to focus on things that matter this weekend. Tell somebody special how much they mean to you. Also, happy President’s day. Two holidays in one weekend! Some of us have off for the day, so use the time wisely. Don’t forget to write.

One thought on “Writing Wins and Woes: The Real Deal”

  1. I’m sure you know how much I appreciate and applaud you for sharing your “heart” thoughts today. I am praying that God will bless and reward all your efforts.
    Mom

Leave a Reply

