Writing Wins and Woes: Yearly Stats

my phone pics 208

I thought the beginning of the year would be a perfect time to post my yearly stats for 2014.

Shari’s Stats:

Submissions: 76

Acceptances: 19

Rejections: 57

I hope these figures help you see that a writer’s life is challenging. Sometimes my writing life seems like the Whack a mole game. Every time I send in my work, it gets clobbered. Often times I feel like the editor is just waiting to get my piece so he can hammer it. He is poised and ready. Here it comes. Whack! But really, it’s not true. There are acceptances. Yes, they are few and far between, but they motivate me to keep going.

Here is the good news for this year: I had a publication in Daily Science Fiction. This is something I worked hard to accomplish. It was a goal that I realized!

Guardian Angel Kids included me in their online magazine 6 times this year! That means a 50% acceptance rate in their publication. By the way, here is a link to January’s fairy tale story. http://www.guardian-angel-kids.com/01-015-3Dflip/index.html#p=8

I had a publication in Timeless Tales! Another first in a publication I repeatedly tried for.

I won the Penn Cove literary Award for the second time!

I had 5 acceptances for print publications! Three for Guide, One for Kid’s Ark and One for an anthology yet to be released, Twice Upon a Time.

And Last but not least, I have made some fabulous, faithful writing friends: Melinda Moore, Holly Jennings, Jane Yates, Lorelle Page, Kate Wolford, Tahlia Kirk and a few others. Thank you friends for inspiring me and thank you readers for continuing to tune into this humble blog.

Thought for the Day: Writing is not just a destination. Don’t make the end goal the all important feature. Take heart in the road marks along the way.

4 thoughts on “Writing Wins and Woes: Yearly Stats”

  1. Grats on your literary award 🙂 Oh, and thank you for the mention! I’m about to get my own 57 rejections – in 2 months. I don’t know if I’m ready, but I really need to start the process so I can start healing from it :S They are pretty good stats. My husband is in sales and the stats regarding his hit rate to sales ratio is staggering. The bigger the pipeline, the more chances for success. We will keep plugging away 🙂

  2. Thanks for the shout out! I’m glad we met over the internet! Maybe someday in person. Your stats are excellent. I hope you’re proud! Here’s to another great year!

Leave a Reply

