Writing Wins and Woes: Oct/Nov Stats

021

I shudder to give my submission stats for October and November, but I have always been brutally honest on my blog. So here goes:

Oct/November Submission Stats:

Submissions: 10

Rejections: 7

Acceptances: 3

Still in Que: 8

I’m actually a bit down about writing lately. I’ve had a lot more rejections than normal, even for me. I also received a book rejection for my picture book. I had to send a query letter, and I received this response: Sorry your submissions was rejected. Please respond if you get this since our emails are not getting to you.
Good luck with your writing.
Editorial Staff

First of all, the grammatical error really ticked me off. Secondly, it irks me that I had to reply to a rejection. Plus, there was no reason given, as usual. So, I guess I’m discouraged. How can I have over 50 publications of short stories and still have no book published? Any words of advice, anyone? I know, I know. Get an agent. Whatever. I still have no idea how to pick an agent. Looking at lists of agents totally overwhelms me. This could be one of the most important decisions of my life, and I’m supposed to say, “eenie, meenie, minie, moe” or what?

So, I refrain from thought for the day, today. I have no thoughts. Maybe I’ll feel better tomorrow. The sun will come up tomorrow, right? Until then, I’m having a pity party. If you have been rejected recently, you’re invited.

4 thoughts on “Writing Wins and Woes: Oct/Nov Stats”

  1. Sorry to hear you’ve been down lately. Writing certainly is a roller coaster ride. Hope it comes back up for you soon.

    Also, I love that picture. Your dogs are so cute.

  2. Ugh, that’s not a good feeling 😦 But, I think that with 50 short stories published, you have a better chance of being represented by an agent than me 🙂 I just posted a few weeks back on this same agent issue. I think I’m going to start with the agents that represent my most fav urban fantasies( in US), since I know they at least enjoy those styles, and also the 5 Aussie agents that are open to submissions. I read it should take about 3 months to research agents. You send out your top 20, wait for responses, and then go to next 20 etc. Have a break on the short stories and get cosy with excel?

  3. Remember you made it into Daily Science Fiction! A goal you had for a long time! I know the glow doesn’t last forever, but whatever you did then worked!

    I hope you’re feeling better this week.

Leave a Reply

