Writing Wins and Woes: Book Review/Whine Box edition

miscellaneous Scott's paintings 026

Happy Halloween! I thought a spooky painting would be appropriate for this time of year. I’m not sure this totally qualifies or not, but I like it. It is, as usual, one of my husband’s. Since I absolutely detest Whine Boxes Let’s get it over with.

WAAA WAAA WAA!
***********************************************************************************
Whine Box

I received a rejection this week from Shine Brightly, which is a Christian girls’ magazine for a story that had been short listed. For experienced writers, cover your ears and say “La La La” You already know what this is, but short listed means the editor put the story aside for future determination because it was interesting. However, I’ve had many shortlisted stories come back to me to join my other babies I am trying to adopt out. I wish more would leave the nest. It keeps getting fuller and fuller. Whine over.
***************************************************************************************
Book Review: This week I am reviewing a book I took forever to read. It is a dated writing book by John McCollister called Writing for Dollars. Subtitled: 75 Tips for the Freelance Writer. The reason I say dated is my edition talks about the two computers you could buy, IBM or Apple/Mac. LOL. But it still had some worthwhile ideas. For instance: It said self-publish if you already have an audience. I know a blogger who gets over 100 comments every time she posts. She is a good candidate for self-publishing in my opinion. But then again, she probably doesn’t need to. It also talks about How to get an agent and if you need one. Some people don’t. If you are only submitting short stories, you’ll never need one. or if you want a smaller press, don’t need one. It offers more ways to sell your writing; such as greeting cards, columns for local papers, interviews, etc. It also talks about whether you need to finish that manuscript before you start making queries. Sometimes you don’t. You may want to test the waters for whether it will sell…All very interesting. I’d say this dated book is worth reading. And there’s actually an updated version on Amazon. Here’s the link: http://www.amazon.com/Writing-Dollar-John-McCollister/dp/0824604865/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1414772343&sr=1-1&keywords=writing+for+dollars%2C+John+McCollister

I submitted to Cricket and Guide this week. Here are the links if you want to check either of these worthwhile publications out. http://www.cricketmag.com/6-Submission-Guidelines-for-kids-magazines-for-children-from-toddlers-to-teens and Guide http://guidemagazine.org/writers-guidelines

Thought for Today: Always look for ways to improve the craft of your writing. A writing book can pave the way to new horizons. Sometimes.

3 thoughts on “Writing Wins and Woes: Book Review/Whine Box edition”

Leave a Reply

