Writing Wins and Woes: Book Review/More Whining

book, mag and Lucy 001

Book Review: The Devil in Massachusetts by Marion L Starkey I’m a big fan of old books. My husband and I attend library book sales regularly. Of course, we’ve accumulated way too many books, but one of the gems I found was this book about the Salem Witch Trials. I’ve always been enamored by the witch trials. I find it extremely interesting that a few teenage girls could cause a whole village to turn against friends, neighbors and loved ones, accusing them of being witches. Many of these people were hung on the evidence of spectral visions that these girls had where supposedly the spirit of “the witches” visited them and caused them harm and/or grief. The girls went into fits and convulsions at the trials of these good people who were flabberghasted by the girls’ testimony. The girls, themselves, were never punished in any way even after the trials were considered to be unethical. Spectral evidence was declared to be unlawful. It was too late for the murdered “witches”, however.

************************************************************************************************************
Well, it’s time for another installment of the Whine Box:
This means that I’ve had another rejection. This time my rejection was from Fantasy Scroll Magazine. This rejection was the standard “this story is not a good fit for our magazine”. Of course, it was disappointing but I’ve had some success lately,so I’m taking it in stride. In fact this week, I received a copy of Guide Magazine where I had another of my stories published. This wasn’t a cover story, but it did contain beautiful illustrations of my story.
***********************************************************************************************************

I submitted to Kids’ Ark and Page and Spine Christmas Story contest this week. Here are the links for these if you’d like to submit to them as well. Kids’ Ark http://www.thekidsark.com/guidelines.htm and Page and Spine contest http://www.pagespineficshowcase.com/twt-aug14.html The page and spine contest has a $5 fee so be aware of that. I don’t usually submit to fee-based things, but if the fee is a small amount, sometimes I make an exception.

Thought for the Day: The key to being a good writer is to be a good reader.

3 thoughts on “Writing Wins and Woes: Book Review/More Whining”

  1. Sorry this week wasn’t a brag box feature. I’m looking forward to the next one. Congrats on your publication in Guide Magazine.

    Excellent thought of the day. I’ve been trying to read more myself.

  2. I’m fascinated with the witch trials as well. Sabrina the Teenage Witch had a good episode about them even though the show is pretty fluffy.

    Sorry you got a rejection. For whatever reason I didn’t like the form from Fantasy Scroll. I can’t remember what it was, but I haven’t submitted to them again. If my inbox is going to be loaded with rejections, I at least want them to be good ones 🙂

Leave a Reply

