Writing Wins and Woes: A little less laziness, please.

corgis are terrific 018

Okay, I confess. I’ve been a lazy writer this week. I only wrote about 1000 words so far, and I did have opportunity to write. I chose to chisel away at my time doing mundane things, like playing with the pooch and surfing facebook and enjoying a lunch out with a family member. But hey wait. If writing becomes a complete duty, and therefore becomes unenjoyable, what are the chances that my work will shine?

Well, that is the excuse I use for today. In the future, I tell myself, a little less laziness, please. Unless I work at writing, my dreams will never be fulfilled. I have no brags or whines this week. I did submit to The First Line. Here’s a link if you’d like to do it also. http://www.thefirstline.com/submission.htm
If you check out their home page, you can submit to what I submitted to. It is a little contest called The Last Line. The First line provides the first line and you creatively spin a story from that. As you can guess, the last line provides the last line that your story must end with. I’ve submitted to First Line before and haven’t yet made the cut, but I’m still hoping. Deadline for last line is Oct. 1,2014 so you still have a few days to come up with a winning story.

Thought for Today: Don’t beat yourself up for slackness as long as you don’t make a habit of it.

3 thoughts on “Writing Wins and Woes: A little less laziness, please.”

  1. I haven’t written for a month while working out my plan and riding out the school holidays. My book tells me when it’s time, though. It’s headlining my thoughts lately, so I am jumping back in soon. We all need to lay off now and again as long as we can handle the backlash we give ourselves 🙂

    1. right. I know sometimes we just can’t write. I’m having another week like that this week. I did a little editing, but i hope to at least do a little writing today.

Leave a Reply

