Writing Wins and Woes: another one bites the dust

zoo and park 035
I’m sad because another favorite place to submit has succombed to the pressures of publishing. I’m talking about Spellbound. Spellbound was a children’s speculative fiction e-mag. Although I never got a chance to have any of my stories featured in it, I thought the publication was great. First, it was Kids’Magination, which morphed into Youth Imagination, more of a teen ezine and now Spellbound. It seems kids writing is a hard nut to crack.

I still really, really enjoy writing for kids even though I am slowly branching out to more grown-up writing. Because I like to write PG writing for kids is the easiest way to do that. So, I’m going to miss Spellbound.

My submission to Spellbound was, of course, rejected, because the ezine has folded. I made no submissions again this week, but I do have one ready to go, and probably will submit it next week. I also have a rewrite to send and I think it’s nearly ready. I started on a new story, and surprise, surprise, it’s about dragons. I am still anxiously awaiting for my Daily Science Fiction story to publish. I’ve had a contract for that, but no word on the when of it all.

Thought for the Day: Integrate writing into everyday activities. Journal, write notes on books or events or even record dreams. They can be inspirational for a story.

2 thoughts on “Writing Wins and Woes: another one bites the dust”

  1. That’s too bad about Spellbound. I’m always sad to see a spec magazine go.

    Please make sure to announce when your Daily Science Fiction story is coming out. I’m dying to read it,

Leave a Reply

