Writing Wins and Woes: A Relaxed Writer

Lucy and Alpacas 008 Unfortunately, I have never been a relaxed writer. It’s always been scouring my brain for ideas, plenty of anxiety about the places I submitted to, and rushing to pen the words so I could finish a story. It’s been a while since I just sat and enjoyed the craft of writing. Somehow, the publishing process can take a whole lot of joy out of what should be the most satisfying part of my life.

All that is said to complement this picture of my corgi, Lucy. She is often relaxed. Dogs don’t know when you will come and go, when they will get their next meal, or if they will get to follow you on your adventures. Yet, they still can relax. I could learn a lot from a dog.

I need to remember that this whole writing thing is mostly out of my control. I write; others decide. That’s it. That’s the way it flies. I can only do my best. I have a co-worker that says you can only give your 100%. That’s all I can do as a writer.

So, I submitted to two places this week and I’m sad about one of them. Photo Flare’s last contest. I have really enjoyed submitting to these contests. The photos Julie provided were inspirational and challenging. A big shout out to Melinda Moore for hosting these contests. We are going to miss them. The other place I submitted to was Strange Horizons. Not much hope there, but as I said before, sometimes you shoot for the moon. I had no acceptances this week, and one sort of rejection, because I had submitted to Enchanted conversation back in June. Winners were announced and I wasn’t one of them. Anyway, that is another contest I will miss. Kate Wolford’s contest was all about fairy tales, and the stories there are truly lovely. Check out her site. It’s a wonderful adventure into fantasy. http://www.fairytalemagazine.com/

Thought for the Day: Try to relax more as a writer. Don’t let the fears and failings of publishing steal the fun away from writing.

2 thoughts on “Writing Wins and Woes: A Relaxed Writer”

  1. So true, Shari! My nerves are always on fire when I’m submitting. There was one point a few months ago where I had a lull and had nothing out on submission. When I went to check my email, I thought: “Well, at least I have nothing to worry about”. I never realized until then how much submitting and publishing was effecting me in a negative way. I’ve gotten better since then but it’s something I’m definitely still working on.

    I’m also sad about the Enchanted Spark contest, but thankful to Melinda for running it as long as she has!

  2. Funny, I thought I had replied to this post and came over to see if others had, and I hadn’t!

    You’re ahead of me. I still cry over some rejections. It all depends on the story and place and timing. I have one out that I’m sure will make the water works come and the rest I will shrug off.

    Thank you both for your kind words about Photo Flare. I was thrilled to publish stories from both of you.

Leave a Reply

