Writing Wins and Woes: The Road Not Taken

Writing Wins and Woes: The Road Not Taken

I was thinking of the Robert Frost poem when I wrote this blog. We could have a whole discussion on whether Frost’s take on his taken road was positive or negative in his life but I think the main point is that whatever road you take it can turn out to be a life changing experience. Writing for me has certainly been that. I am so thankful to have taken this path. I am thankful despite the ups and frequent downs I’ve encountered because I write and because I submit. As writers we certainly do take a road less traveled on, although it doesn’t seem that way when you find out thousands of people have tried the same publisher you have.

Now for my best, most happy news. I have finally had a story accepted at Daily Science Fiction. This is by far the most prestigious of all my acceptances. I can’t tell you how excited I was when I received word that I had made round two. I didn’t share it on my blog because they let me know that half of those who make it that far don’t make it to final acceptance. But I have! Yay! So rejoice with me. If I can make it, so can you.

I don’t know when my story will be posted. Not for awhile I imagine. I haven’t yet received the contract or any edits, but when it is posted, I will certainly share the link.

I didn’t write this week. I didn’t submit this week either. I worked and I helped at our church’s Cooking Camp for kids. I really like doing this every year. It’s fun to see kids excited about cooking. I do love to cook but don’t get to do it as much anymore because I work a lot and I have to decide what I want to do most, and of course, that’s writing. My group made lasagna roll ups, chicken corn soup and barbeque. I had the best teen helper in the world, Michael, who has his own garden and greenhouse. He outshines me by far in cooking, and he’s only going into the eighth grade.

Next week I hope to tell you I’ve written something and submitted some things. Have a great week and much success in whatever you do.

6 thoughts on “Writing Wins and Woes: The Road Not Taken”

  1. I nearly screamed when I read about your acceptance at Daily Science Fiction. I’m so so happy for you! Congrats x1000.

  2. I do rejoice with you and bring praise to God who blesses your desire to write and not give up in times of discouragement. Congratulations!!!!

Leave a Reply

