Writing Wins and Woes: What a writer’s house looks like

Writing Wins and Woes: What a writer's house looks like

I don’t know if I should have captioned this “What a writer’s house looks like” or “What a reader’s house looks like” but anyway, this is a painting my husband did of our bedroom. It does justice to the stacks of books “we” have accumulated because we are both readers. I am a writer, so I read. Writers should be readers. The only way to write well is to be well read. Studying great writers helps us to write great.

Hopefully your house, if you’re a writer, isn’t quite this bad, and maybe you have Kindle now and don’t need all this, but I think there is nothing so satisfying as holding a book in your hands. I have such contentment reading a book I love and feel such disappointment when it’s done. I can’t be involved in those character’s lives anymore. I usually go away wanting more.

As writers, we need to strive to make our characters come alive so our readers want more when the stories over. Hopefully, our audience isn’t saying, “Thank God, it’s over.” That’s a little private joke in our family, but it can be so true of a lousy book or story. We don’t even want to finish it. I’ve filed a few books into the round file.

Well, I didn’t submit a thing this week. It’s the first I haven’t in a while, but it was a very busy week, and I’ve had a few upsets. So…next week. I also got a rejection from Untied Shoelaces of the Mind. I know you’ve been waiting to hear how they raked me over the coals, but oddly, they didn’t say anything. Rejected, without a word. So I guess, it was even worse than usual.

Happy Memorial Day to all the veterans and service people out there. We appreciate all you’ve done and do. God bless everybody and here’s to good writing successes in your future. The odds are never in our favor, but we write on.

Thought for the Day: Build characters that live and breathe. And don’t collect as many books as we do.

3 thoughts on “Writing Wins and Woes: What a writer’s house looks like”

  1. Great Picture! Sorry about the rejection. Did you forget to check the box for a personal response? I did and just got a form rejection. He won’t do personals if the box is not checked.

    I also hate when a good book ends.

  2. Sorry about your upsets this week Shari. Thinking about you and sending good thoughts your way.

    Also, I laughed out loud at your advice: “don’t collect as many books as we do.”

Leave a Reply

