Writing Wins and Woes: Happy May

Writing Wins and Woes: Happy May

May is starting out great and maybe not so much, but I am happy. Again, I am privileged to have a story in Guardian Angel Kids, the unusual art issue and this time it comes with a bonus. A drawing by my talented daughter.
http://www.guardian-angel-kids.com/05-014-3DFlipbook/index.html

I also had a win for the monthly contest at Enchanted Conversation, a fairy tale magazine. I will post the link when the story is up. Melinda, you’ll be very pleased that the story chosen was “Cell Tower”.

With such good news, I hate to dampen the mood with news of a rejection as well from Youth ‘magination for a story I personally liked but felt like a rough draft to them. I might work on it and submit elsewhere but I don’t know too many other places that publish YA stories anymore.

I submitted to Youth ‘magination and Untied Shoelaces this week. Yes, I’m barking up that old tree again. I’ll let you know the humiliation when it’s received. For those just tuning in, that particular publisher tends to really pour on the criticism. the last one I received for Monkey Shines, a story that Alternate hilarities liked, read that “she didn’t laugh even once” while reading it. Thank you very much. Yet, I keep sending humorous stories to them. I am such a glutton for punishment.

Thought for the day: I guess I have to say it, even though I have a rough time practicing it. Roll with the Punches. When you win, it is exhilaration. When you lose, it is despondence. Don’t let it stop you. Keep on punching.

4 thoughts on “Writing Wins and Woes: Happy May”

Leave a Reply

