Writing Wins and Woes: A Writer’s Blog

360

Okay, the wait is over! Paint Splashes Contest has concluded and the winners are: Melinda Moore as the winning entrant and Lisa Millhouse as runner-up. Congratulations to both of you! Their stories will be featured here on my blog, April 4th and April 11th. So excited to share them with the world.

I also thought I’d like to share another of my husband’s paintings. Hope you like it. As I don’t ask people to do what I can’t do myself, I’ve written a story also for the Paint Splashes painting. I can’t win. That would be unethical, but I can still share my story. I will share that story on April 18th. It’s just for fun.
Now for the unfun part. I received two rejections this week: one from Knowonder! where I can’t seem to sink that magical fifth story that will start me on my own short story collection. Sigh! Also, I got a rejection from UFO, another sci-fi humor anthology. I submitted to two places this week, UFO and Guardian Angel Kids. My writing tallies have really slumped lately. I had a disappointment with a job last week and been working lots of hours on my substitute cleaning job this week. If I had more consistency with my hours, I could plan my writing better, but I don’t so, I have to work with what I got.
Thought for the Day: Try your hand at something new when writing. Be an editor, or proof read somebody else’s writing. I really enjoyed doing the Paint Splashes Contest. I didn’t get as many entrants as I would have liked but what I did get was quality. Thanks to all who participated. Kudos to everyone! You are all winners because you write!

8 thoughts on “Writing Wins and Woes: A Writer’s Blog”

  1. Congrats to the winners! Melinda and I have been smack talking via email and now I have to bow down to the queen. Can’t wait to read these stories! I had fun participating. Thanks for hosting such a great contest.

    1. You are so welcome, Holly. I’m so glad you participated. I think if you made your story longer, it would be great to submit somewhere else.

  2. I wish I could read your story, Holly. I hope you submit it to another venue!

    Thanks Shari! I’m really excited! The painting you posted today is my favorite by your husband. Will it appear in a contest? Thanks for hosting it!

Leave a Reply

