Writing Wins and Woes: A Writer’s Blog

Writing Wins and Woes: A Writer's Blog

Since this is the last week for my contest Paint Splashes, I thought I’d post the painting again to inspire those who still plan to submit. Deadline is Tuesday, March 25th so get your entries in to paintsplashes@comcast.net. If you don’t get a reply in a day or two, please resubmit. I will send a reply to let you know I got your entry. Winners will be chosen by the end of the month. Can’t wait to see the stories. Remember they must be flash fiction, a thousand words or less.

Now for the good news. After a six rejection slump, I had two poems accepted at Page and Spine. I’m very excited. I’ve only had one poem published in the past. Of course, this does demonstrate that I’m still a little confused as to the kind of writing I do. Sometimes I write children’s stories for christian mags. Sometimes I write children’s fiction for regular ezines and mags. Sometimes I write speculative fiction for adults and sometimes I write literary fiction. And now, of course, poetry. Actually, I began my writing three years ago writing poetry, but veered off from it because I thought publishing poetry was tons harder to do than publishing fiction. I still think that’s true. What do you guys think? Do you ever write poetry? Have you ever tried publishing any?
Well, I am very excited because I am going to a retreat this weekend. No, not a writing retreat. A ladies retreat with a friend from work. I’ve never done this before so it’ll be nice having some girl time apart from the demands of home and family. I hope to come back rejuvenated in my writing and otherwise.
I received two more rejections this week. That made it six as I said in two weeks; one from metro fiction and I don’t remember the other one of the six. All the rejections become a blur.
Thought for the Day: Get a little me time to recharge your batteries. I’m so predictable aren’t I?

One thought on “Writing Wins and Woes: A Writer’s Blog”

Leave a Reply

