Writing Wins and Woes: A Writer’s Blog

Writing Wins and Woes: A Writer's Blog

Now, I’m going to admit my geeky side. I am a Star Trek fan. No, I’m not a trekkie. I don’t know all the lingo, and i don’t go to conventions or collect the stuff, but ever since the original Star Trek with Captain Kirk, I’ve been in love with all the Star Trek shows. Presently, I am watching Star Trek Voyager, which at this point in the show, Season 4, I think, has an actual Borg on board, who has been disconnected from the Collective. After saying that, I am profoundly disgusted with myself. As a writer, I keep thinking the Borg phrase, “Resistance is Futile.” I often feel like eventually, I’ll have to give up my dreams of becoming a writer because I am doomed to failure. Maybe that’s because I had 4, yes count them, 4 rejections this week, and no acceptances.

They are, drum roll please, from Flash fiction online, Daily Science fiction, Asimov’s Science Fiction and the String of 10 Flash fiction contest. I better have a better week next week.

Also, I need to plug Paint Splashes again. I have hardly any entries and only two weeks to go. Please enter. The rules are here:
https://sklase.wordpress.com/2014/02/14/paint-splashes-flash-contest/

I submitted to two places this week: The Photo Flare Contest Melinda Moore has, and Metrofiction.

Thought for the Day: Resistance may seem futile at times, but eventually, you will move forward if you keep trying. To quote another favorite of mine, “Just Keep Swimming!”

3 thoughts on “Writing Wins and Woes: A Writer’s Blog”

  1. Ah, a kindred spirit. I’m currently watching Star Trek TNG in Season 7. I too am not a “trekkie” but simply a fan.

    Sorry to hear about your rejections this week but I don’t doubt you’ll have an acceptance soon.

    I’ll be sending an entry your way but it’ll probably be close to the end of the contest date. I like to go over my stories multiple times after taking mini-hiatuses from them. Anyways, count on a sub from me!

  2. Sorry about the slew of rejections 😦 My favorite part of Voyager is the opening and the Borg. I admit to favoring Next Generation over all the rest.

    I hope your week is much better.

Leave a Reply

