Writing Wins and Woes: Character sketch of my hero

Writing Wins and Woes: Character sketch of my hero

Okay, This doesn’t look like anybody’s idea of a hero, but I thought a lot about this blog and my belief is that when writing about a hero they should be somewhat flawed. This person(if your hero is a person) might be ordinary, but everybody has character inadequacies, and if my character doesn’t have a flaw, the hero isn’t remotely interesting.

So, I often write about a girl/woman who is lost, or facing some difficulty and is seeking to do something to overcome that crisis in her life. To me heros come in every day packages. Of course, in some of my stories, the hero doesn’t even win, or the hero turns out to be a villain. When the hero does win in my story, she often finds she wants to go back to where she started because what she found is not as satisfying as home. Sounds a lot like the Wizard of Oz, right?

I appreciate being able to share my opinions in this blog hop. This is one of the most interesting ones, yet. I’m sure there will be a lot of varieties in answers. Say on!

While I am here, please allow me a chance to plug my contest, Paint Splashes. The picture I included in this blog is my husband’s painting, and Paint Splashes is a flash fiction contest I have on my blog based on another of my husband’s great paintings. The contest goes to March 25th. More details are on my blog, here.

https://sklase.wordpress.com/2014/01/09/paint-splashes/

Thought for the Day: Heros are complex. When writing about them, don’t follow the stereotypes, try something different.

10 thoughts on “Writing Wins and Woes: Character sketch of my hero”

  1. Your thought for the day is something well worth pondering. To be heard in the clamor of voices today, writers need to have the courage to take risks, and an interesting, non-stereotypical hero is a great place to start. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. One thing I hate reading about is picture-perfect heroes. I mean, really. What kind of person is flawless? Why would we want to know more about someone who does everything right?

    Great post, Shari!

  3. Great thoughts on heros! I agree with you that heroes need to be slightly flawed… just as villains need to have a touch of goodness in them. 🙂 We want characters we can relate to. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Your comment that characters need flaws to be interesting rings true. My characters come from a real background (real to me, anyway) complete with hurts and failures. Sometimes it’s the flaws that make them personable. (I don’t do twitter either, by the way.)

Leave a Reply

