Writing Wins and Woes: A Writer’s Blog

Writing Wins and Woes: A Writer's Blog

A writer’s life consists of mountain tops and valleys. Sometimes you have a mountain top experience and the same day you have a valley. I often don’t want to look into my inbox. It’s one of those things where I am anticipating and dreading at the same time.

Since I forgot to list my submissions and acceptances/rejections last week and this is the last day of the month I thought I’d do a stat day. So here it is:

Shari’s Stats: January

Submissions: 12
Acceptances: 3
Outright Rejections: 7
Rejections asking for revisions: 2

Although that rejection number is high, I am encouraged because I had three acceptances this month and two were for a print magazine, Guide, that netted me $170. Yay!

Update: I mentioned previously about Knowonder! and my plans to start working toward a book of short stories. Out of the five stories I submitted one was accepted, 2 were rejected outright and two asked me to work on them and resubmit. Since I already have three published stories with knowonder, and now an accepted fourth, I am well on my way to the five stories required to start working toward my collection of short stories. Keep your fingers crossed and I’ll keep you updated.

My other rejections were from Daily Science Fiction. (I keep trying.) Spellbound (again I keep trying) Page and Spine and T. Gene Davis speculative Blog.

As usual, I want to encourage writers out there to submit to my flash fiction contest, Paint Splashes. The winner will receive $10 paypal money and runner-up will receive $5 paypal. See the link for more details.

https://sklase.wordpress.com/2014/01/09/paint-splashes/

Thought for the Day: Since my blog earlier this week was on writing resources. I thought I’d plug one of my favorite. The Submission Grinder. If you click on recently added, you’ll find new markets all the time to submit to. You can also keep track of your own submissions, all for the low, low cost of zero dollars. Thank you, Submission Grinder, for all you do. The link is on my sidebar for that.

3 thoughts on “Writing Wins and Woes: A Writer’s Blog”

  1. Congrats on on your number of acceptances!! And best of luck getting that collection of stories.
    Also, I’m planning on entering your contest! Looking forward to it, it should be fun. 🙂

  2. Congrats on your acceptances! I’m very excited about your chance at a short story collection.

    On a side note: I’ve been tweeting about your contest, and some people have favorited/retweeted, so let’s hope it draws some entries for you!

Leave a Reply

