Writing Wins and Woes: A Writer’s Blog

1069
It seems lately that my writing career has become more woes than wins. I haven’t had a single acceptance in the New Year. Yet, I am strangely optimistic. I am writing more than ever despite working part time. I made a writing goal of 3000 words a week and so far, I am keeping it. Also, I am happy with the fact that I have over 40 publications in various ezines, print magazines and anthologies. Like my friend, Holly Jennings, I am always hoping for a year of the novel. Of course,my novels are usually more like short books geared to children. I am also writing more flash stories, short shorts or stories of 1000 words or less because it is fun. Speaking of flash, please, submit to my contest. So far, I have two submissions, and I really want a lot more. Again, here is the link to my contest, Paint Splashes. It is for flash fiction, winner wins $10 paypal money and runner-up wins $5 paypal money. Please enter and tell other writers to do the same. The contest continues until March 25th.
https://sklase.wordpress.com/2014/01/09/paint-splashes/
So, I have a question for all you writers reading my blog. What are you looking to for inspiration lately? I’ll tell you one of mine. We have had cold, and I mean cold weather this Winter in the Northeast US. I know some of you get colder weather but we have had a lot of single digits with wind chills below zero. These cold snaps have names now. The first one was called a Polar Vortex and now this one is called an Arctic Blast. I love this. It just inspired me to write a story about eternal Winter. Try your hand at a story about something that inspires you. What? Did I just give a thought for the day? I guess I did.
Thought for the Day: Get inspired and write, or paint. Or paint and write. Or write about a painting. There’s another shameless plug of mine.

One thought on “Writing Wins and Woes: A Writer’s Blog”

  1. 40 publications is fabulous! Keep on keeping on 🙂
    I’m not sure where my inspiration is coming from right now. Possibly some things in my past. I don’t care for January and February in NM. We get a false spring and then Bam! Snow comes out of nowhere. It really messes up my sense of time.

Leave a Reply

