Writing Wins and Woes: A Writer’s Blog

Writing Wins and Woes: A Writer's Blog

Yes, it’s another shameless advertisement for my favorite little corgi dog, Lucy. I love her despite the fact that she has chewed our hardwood floor, our area rug, our flooring in the kitchen, and two arms of one chair that was bought as a set with our sofa. Both are covered. She managed to remove the covering and chew through the arms anyway. You have to have something to do when you are bored. Which leads me to my writing plug. Using time wisely while writing. Often times I can waste my precious writing time surfing through facebook, places to submit(maybe that’s not complete waste) or watching Netflix on my laptop. Of course, every writer needs down time but I need to use my time wisely and spend at least a short time every day writing something. Amen?

My writing goal is 3000 words a week, and so far I’ve done 2000. I need to bump it up today and finish for my goal, and I have to go to work in 4 hours. I didn’t receive any rejections this week and I submitted to three places, Penn Cove, Guardian Angel Kids and Daily Science Fiction.

I also want to continue to plug my contest, Paint Splashes. Please submit stories to it. It’s just flash stories under 1000 words, any genre. It’s open to March 25th and it is based on my husband’s magnificent painting. Here is the link:

https://sklase.wordpress.com/2014/01/09/paint-splashes/

Thought for the Day: Don’t waste your writing time. Make goals and stick to them. A successful writer is a disciplined writer.

4 thoughts on “Writing Wins and Woes: A Writer’s Blog”

  1. I might be joining you at Penn Cove. The piece I wrote for them turned out a little longer so I submitted it someplace else. If I get it back before the end of the month, I’ll be trimming it and turning it in to Penn Cove. Head to head 🙂

  2. Best of luck to both of you in your submissions. I’m glad you’ve been finding more time to write, Shari, and I’m looking forward to your contest. I’ve saved your husband’s painting into my WIP writing file so I can look at it every time I go to write something. Things are a brewing in the creative crockpot.

Leave a Reply

