Writing Wins and Woes: A Writer’s Blog

Writing Wins and Woes: A Writer's Blog

Merry Christmas, writers everywhere. Hope yours was happy. Due to a busy day tomorrow, I thought I’d publish my blog today. Also, due to a busy week, I’ve done no writing or submitting. I allow myself those kinds of weeks once in awhile, but next week I’ll do better.

So, I thought I’d do my year’s writing statistics:

Without further ado:

Submissions for 2013: 120

Acceptances: 17

Rejections: 82

In the Que (watiting): 14

Nonresponses: 7

Thought for the day: Make goals for yourself in writing and follow through. My goal has been two submissions a week. Next year, I hope to make some actual writing goals, like so many words a week. We’ll see.

Remember: Writing contest coming up second week in January. Prizes: $10 and $5 paypal money based on my husband’s painting and flash fiction. Keep the ideas coming in for a title! I actually haven’t got any yet.

3 thoughts on “Writing Wins and Woes: A Writer’s Blog”

  1. It looks like you had a good writing year! I’m glad to hear you’re looking forward and changing things up a bit next year.

  2. Great year, Shari! I agree and think it’s important to set goals for yourself. Mine for this upcoming year is to focus on novels. I have two in progress right now and I hope to finish them both by the end of the year.

    I’ll keep thinking about a contest title and try to have some suggestions for you next week.

Leave a Reply

