Writing Wins and Woes: A Writer’s Blog

Writing Wins and Woes: A Writer's Blog

As you can see, I’ve sort of re-named my blog. I thought since I had a new look, why not a new name and in my bio at the story you will be linked to in a moment I used this phrase to describe my blog. I’m so excited to be able to share with you my new story at Youth Imagination inspired by The Hunger Games. I hope you read and enjoy it. It is one of my longest short stories. Please don’t let that discourage you. Only 5000 words. It’s not a novella or anything.
http://www.youthimagination.org/index.php/publish/current-issue/december-2013/item/72-beta-tribe-by-shari-klase

I am also excited about my upcoming contest, starting the second week of January. However, I need a title of some kind for my contest. Any suggestions? It will be flash, so you could put that in the title if you wish. It will also be based on my husband’s painting. So you could add something about that. I don’t know. Just use your imagination. The prize will be $10 paypal money and $5 paypal for the runner up.

I had one rejection this week, from Daily Science Fiction. Holly, maybe you should share with me the secret to your success there. I’ve submitted probably 5 or 6 times there, and no successes. I submitted two stories to Guide magazine. That is a print magazine for children and they only accept true stories.

Thought for the Day: Don’t monkey around with your talents. Use them. That’s awful, I know. I’ll think of a better one next week.

4 thoughts on “Writing Wins and Woes: A Writer’s Blog”

  1. Congrats on your new story. I’m looking forward to it, but like Melinda, it might have to be after Christmas.

    As for Daily Science Fiction, I had one acceptance but I also had a few rejections since then, so I’m not sure how much insight I can offer. All I know was the editor told me that he liked how the story provoked strong, unexpected emotion in him. They also publish mostly flash, so your odds are higher with shorter pieces. They get thousands of submissions, so getting into the top 1-2% is hard. I remember once the editor said he’d like to get more sci-fi that’s alternate history in flavor, so maybe it will help to read some interviews to get an idea of what the editor goes for. I hope that helps.

    I’ve been thinking about your contest name but haven’t come up with anything yet. Ill definitely give it some more thought.

    1. Thanks for all the helpful stuff, Holly. I have been trying to submit flash because I see that’s what they are putting on their site right now but I do lack the science fiction-y angle and send in mostly fantasy. Maybe that’s why.

Leave a Reply

