A Writer’s Blog

A Writer's Blog

Somewhere over the rainbow is a writer’s dream. Over the Rainbow is this magical place where you have a book published, you’re at a book signing, or you’re doing a tour as a famous author. You believe that over the rainbow is a place where wishes come true. Then, reality sinks in. You don’t get your writer’s dreams fulfilled by wishing. Instead, it takes hard work, ingenuity and ambition. Often times, you’re not ready for the long haul of work, work, work.You didn’t know you’d have to Persevere through defeat and writer’s block. But if you have that magazine in your hand with your name in the byline, or better still, that book, it makes up for all the hard work you’ve toiled through. To be truthful, those moments are rare. As I look over my 300 rejections and see my 42 acceptances, sometimes the journey still to come seems insurmountable. My motto: Keep moving forward.

This week in review: Ahh, how I love torture. There can be no other reason why I would submit again to Untied Shoelaces of the Mind. They don’t mind stomping on fragile writer feelings. I submitted to them recently and received a rejection on the first round. The reason: I don’t like the names of your characters. There’s just no way. And I thought they were pretty cool. That was my rejection for the week. I had no acceptances. I only submitted to one place; due to laziness, snowstorm where my husband was home all day, a job interview and a dinner date with a friend. I submitted to Guardian Angel kids.

This is a photo my husband took of a rainbow outside our house. I liked it because I recently wrote a rainbow story.

Contest reminder: Don’t forget I’m planning a writing contest the second week of January, about a month from now. It will be based on one of my husband’s paintings, it will be a flash contest and the winner will receive $10 paypal money and the runner-up will receive $5 paypal money. If you are thinking about entering, please comment. I’d like to think I’ll have a few entries. If you know people who write, tell them to keep posted with my blog for the details.

Thought for the day: You guessed it. Keep moving forward. Being idle is a step backwards.

2 thoughts on “A Writer’s Blog”

  1. Ahhh, we writers sure love to gloss over our accomplishments and focus on what’s still to be done. 42/300 is nearly 15%, which is an amazing acceptance rate. You kick butt, Shari! Did you know that best-selling author Jennifer Estep endured over 400 rejections before landing her first two acceptances? Seriously, 2/400+!

    I think writers submit and resubmit to the places where we’re rejected partly because we’re stubborn and partly because we love the challenge. Best of luck with Untied Shoelaces. You’ll crack that egg yet!

    As for your contest, I will definitely send in an entry. Looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

