A Writer’s Blog

A Writer's Blog

As promised, I am doing a brief review on Peter Guralnick’s book, The Unmaking of Elvis Presley Careless Love.
What I liked about this book: It brought you up close and personal with Elvis. There is a ton of detail about his life, his recording sessions, his marriage, the women in his life, those he worked with, and of course, his unmaking which was the drug use everybody has heard about.
What I didn’t like: This book was about 650 pages so it is long. It has almost too much detail about contracts and recording sessions, and it gets tedious in places.
What I learned: Elvis was a lonely, lost man who found himself with few friends at the end of his life. He also spent much of his life wondering what his purpose was for being here. He wanted it to be about more than entertaining, but in the end, I believe that mostly that’s what it was about.
This book made me want to read the prequel, which I plan to, Last Train to Memphis. Also I had to watch some of his early and later concerts on Youtube. If you do the same, it will make you sad. Even hearing some of his later concert selections in 1977 are heart breaking; slurred speech, speedy delivery, a feeling of apathy toward the music he loved. In the early days, say 1970 and before, he seemed to transcend into a deeper plane when he sang.
Anyway, despite the length, I do recommend it, esp. if you’re an Elvis fan like me. Why am I an Elvis fan? Well, I suppose partly becuz my parents were Elvis fans. But mostly, because I have been obsessed with Elvis and his music since childhood. My mother actually wrote me letters from Elvis when I was a little girl because I didn’t have a dad in my life at the time and I believed at the time that they came from Elvis. He became a surrogate dad to me. I know, corny and naive. I debated even sharing it. But it actually helped me get through a lot of childhood trauma.
Okay, on to writer stuff. I received one rejection this week from Up, Do. I hate to say it but it was a very unhelpful rejection. They said my story should have less explanation and more action. I hate these kind of comments becuz I don’t know how to apply them. Probably wouldn’t want to anyway. The story was more psychological, than action.
I submitted to two places, The amazing Photo Flare Contest and Daily Science Fiction. I forgot to mention that I submitted to two places last week as well.Spellbound and Untied Shoelaces of the Mind. I get daily science fiction’s stories every day. You can too by clicking on my link. They’re usually short and thought provoking.
Speaking of thought:

Thought for the Day: A writer is a reader. Don’t neglect reading to learn how other great writers achieve their mastery. Learn from them and then add your own flair to what you learn.
Note about Contest: I will be having a writing contest. It will be flash fiction, which means 1000 words or less. It will be any genre. The winner will receive $10 via paypal. runner-up will receive $5 via paypal. It will begin about the second week of January and will run to the end of March, at which time I will announce winner, send money and post the two stories on my blog. I will post a painting by my husband of my choosing. You write a story that the painting inspires you to write. I will be excited to see what people come up with. Hope I get some entries. Comment if this sounds interesting or if you have questions. Nothing is set in stone yet.

4 thoughts on “A Writer’s Blog”

  1. Thanks very much for the book review. I enjoyed your thoughts and how much it meant to you.

    I wouldn’t let the rejection get to you too much. I know it’s frustrating. I’ve had comments like that on my own stories where one person told me “this story moves too fast” just to have someone else say “it’s slow in parts”. When I get points like these, I take them to be nothing more than a matter of opinion and taste. Most criticism is valuable, but some just has to be ignored – for our own sanity, if anything. Best of luck with your new submissions.

    Super excited about the contest. Glad you decided to go with flash. It’s a great challenge. Here’s hoping you’ll be open to international submissions. *Puppy eyes*. Once you decide for sure, I’ll tweet about it and send it out to writing buddies, help spread the word.

    1. thanks, Holly, for all your encouraging words. You’re right, of course, about rejections. I try to profit from them if I can and if I can’t, I just go on. Submit it somewhere else or go to the next story. I’ll let you know about the contest as the time gets closer.

Leave a Reply

