A Writer’s Blog

A Writer's BlogMy puppy turns one tomorrow.

I’m still excited about the win at Penn Cove I had last Friday but as with all writer’s pursuits, I have to move on. This week I’ve had two rejections. They were both personal so it wasn’t a total downer. Shimmer said : Thank you for your submission to Shimmer. I thought your story had its strong points, including an interesting concept, but ultimately I didn’t think this was quite right for us. The voice, here, didn’t seem to be what we’re looking for: something lyrical, while being understated and emotive. I’m going to have to pass on this, but I wish you the best of luck placing your story elsewhere.
I also had a rejection from Spellbound. They had asked for a rewrite so I was hopeful there but it didn’t pan out. Spellbound said :Thank you for submitting a rewrite of “The Stone Giant” to Spellbound.
I do think this story is improved with the edits, but ultimately, I
feel it’s not quite right.

While I’m not accepting this story, I wanted to let you know that I do
enjoy seeing your submissions. Also, in case you didn’t know, we are
releasing a special edition of Spellbound next year. We’ve just
opened up to submissions and you can find the guidelines at:
http://eggplantproductions.com/general-guidelines/guidelines-for-spellbound-spindles/.
The theme is retold fairy tales. I hope the theme inspires you to
submit something.
So I am trying to take heart. I submitted to Photo Flare Contest again this week and to the Story Quest Short Story Contest.
Thought for the Day: Don’t dwell on the negatives. As the song goes, “Accentuate the positive” God is still in his Heaven. All is right with the world.

Leave a Reply

