A Writer’s Blog

A Writer's Blog

One of the things I really liked at the zoo was the aviary. For some reason, I love to watch birds. They are bright, colorful, chatty, showy and they do funny things. They even like to play with toys. Maybe I enjoy birds so much because this is what I want my writing to be like. I want it to stand out. I want it to be showy and I want it to be funny when it’s funny. Mostly, I want everyone else to acknowledge that they like my writing as much as I do.
Unfortunately, it very seldom happens that way. Mostly People say we’ve gone over my work, and decided against it. No matter how nicely it’s said, it’s still a rejection. I had one this week that said we went back and forth on this one but ultimately decided against it. Please send your next piece when it’s ready. When it’s ready? I’ve got 40 pieces ready that nobody wants. Most places say I hope you find a home for your story. I always think my story has a home; in my computer and it’s getting crowded in there. I’m ready to kick a lot of these “children” out of their home. I keep sending them away but they keep coming back.
I had two rejections again this week. I suppose you’ve guessed that with all this negativity. They were from Metrofiction and The First Line. I submitted two things this week: one to Guardian Angel Kids and one to Enchanted Spark’s Photo Flare Contest. I also did hours and hours of scouting for places to send my now finished children’s book. I didn’t know how hard it was going to be. It was definitely harder than writing the actual book. At least it seemed that way to me. I was looking for small presses that wouldn’t require agents. I finally found 6. I’m dragging my feet, but I am going to submit this book to those six places. So help me God.
I think I’d be a lot more depressed right now, but I just got a new part time job. It’s been refreshingly distracting. I think I need that right now, so I don’t totally give up. It’s been a hard couple of weeks.
Thought for the Day: If you feel like you’re in a rut, or slump as I do now, get a writer’s book and work through it. Sometimes a different perspective helps.

Leave a Reply

