A Writer’s Blog

A Writer's Blog

I just love the photos of the bridge in our town. We just had a celebration surrounding bridges because a covered bridge spanning the Susquehanna river was purposely burned down during the civil war to halt the progress of the Confederates.

This has been a week of uncertainty. I was hired for a new job but it is only for a substitute worker and I’m not sure how everything will turn out. As usual, just with writing, I feel Like I am always in Limbo,

I received no rejections this week or acceptances. I sent in an article to Guardian Angel Kids, and a story to the Photo Flare Contest.

I wanted to do another book review this week. I just finished John Steinbeck’s In Dubious Battle. It is about striking migrant workers in California apple country. Leading and urging on the strike are two union men, Mac and Jim. Jim is a novice in the whole union-striking arena but he has the energy and enthusiasm of a seasoned professional. This book has plenty of raw grit, violent emotions and complicity that you expect from a Steinbeck novel. It doesn’t end well, as you can expect. For another easier, more pleasant Steinbeck read, try Travels with Charley. My husband and I made this more fun by reading it while traveling. It’s about Steinbeck’s real life travels across country in a travel trailer with his poodle named Charley. It’s great reading.

Thought for the Day: Sometimes a writer needs to sit down and rehash where they’re going with their work. Do this periodically to get some clarity. Maybe a new dimension needs to be added. Sometimes that helps me also to energize my writing. Whatever you do, keep writing.

Leave a Reply

