A Writer’s Blog

A Writer's Blog

Life for a writer is not all roses, is it? I wish I could write on this blog that I’ve sent out two items and had two acceptances every time. But that’s not life, is it? It is moments of joy coupled with moments of pain.

That said. I sent out two items this week, and I’ve had two rejections. One was from Ardor and one was from Electric Spec. I sent out to Buzzy Mag and The First Line.

I thought I’d do a little book review today of one of the books from a favorite author. Pearl S buck. If you’ve never read anything by her, I urge you to read away. I haven’t read anything I haven’t liked. The book I recently read was titled, Kinfolk. Pearl S Buck was a missionary in China and she writes mainly about old time China. This story is actually from the 1940’s and begins in America and then turns to China. It is about the Liang family, whose oldest son, a doctor, decides he wants to serve his people in China. When his siblings are forced to join him because of a family scandal, they end up moving to their ancestral village where the story enfolds. What I like best about Kinfolk is the rich descriptions of Chinese culture that is embedded in all the author’s narratives, the most famous being The Good Earth. My personal favorite is Pavilion of Women.

My thought for the day is : Don’t be afraid to leap into your next phase of writing, whether it is writing a novel, or sending it out, promoting a book, or exploring a new interest. Go have an adventure.

4 thoughts on “A Writer’s Blog”

  1. How serendiptous. I am currently writing a story that takes place both now and in ancient China. However, I’m afraid I didn’t like The Good Earth so I’m afraid to try another 🙂 I’ll consider it though.

  2. Great book review on Pearl S. Buck! As you know, I also have enjoyed reading her books. But more than anything I’m impressed by the way you continue to encourage others in the times of discouragement. I applaud you who are writers in the way you persevere. I’m sure you will be rewarded for that.
    Mom

Leave a Reply

