A writer’s blog

A writer's blog

Rainy days and Mondays always get me down. Luckily, today is Friday which makes a rainy day a little more bearable. However, because it is Spring, I’d love to be able to go outside and play as my corgi is doing in this picture. She runs for the sheer enjoyment of running a lot of times.

So my caveat to writing. Writing should be done for the sheer enjoyment of writing. Sometimes, I confess, I get bogged down with the publishing angle of writing. I write like I’m on assignment for pay or often even like a school assignment. Many times that was drudgery. I don’t want to look at my writing in that way. Duty often stymies creativity. So, next week I’m going to write a story just for the fun of it and see where it goes. After all, if I’m living my dream, I should, at least be enjoying it.

So, this week’s summing up. One acceptance at Guardian Angel Kids as I posted and one rejection, at On the Premises. They commented that they had two hundred and ninety some entries 10 shortlisted and mine wasn’t one of them. cut and dry.

I submitted to four places this week: Spider, Shine Brightly, Pockets fiction contest and the Penn Cove literary award ( yes, Melinda, you inspired me yet again by your acceptance there)

Thought for the Day: Find a writing inspiration and run with it.

One thought on “A writer’s blog”

Leave a Reply

