A Writer’s Blog

A Writer's Blog

This week began with Mother’s Day. I have the best mother in the world. She supports me in my dreams and raised me as a single parent for almost all my growing up years. Yet, I have to say that this was one of my worst mother’s days. My morning started out with a rejection from Kids’Ark, for a story that I submitted last August. Why they picked Mother’s Day to reject my “wonderful story” in their words, I’m not sure. Anyway, I’m not angry at them because they were the first publication to publish one of my stories, and I will be forever grateful for that.

Most of my bad day resulted from having to spend the day with one of my husband’s relatives who is a complete, off the wall, nut. Because he invited himself to our Mother’s Day festivities, I also had to subject him on my mother, who has more of a problem with him than I do. Well, none of this has anything to do with writing except for the rejection part. May I say “Happy Mother’s Day” to all writing mothers out there.

I submitted two stories this week, one a revised story I wrote from before and desperately want printed, to Guardian Angel Kids for their aviation issue. The other was the story I wrote last week. I submitted that to Beyond Centauri.

So, I had one rejection this week and a probable rejection from Eric’s Hysterics because I didn’t hear back from them in a week and a half.

I finished reading a book this week, John Steinbeck’s A God Unknown. I found it interesting with some complex characters, but overall depressing. It ended badly, or should I say sadly, but many of his books do so I should have expected it. My daughter has me reading the second Hunger Games book, and so far I like it.

Thought for the Day: Surround yourself with people who encourage you to follow your dreams.

One thought on “A Writer’s Blog”

Leave a Reply

