A Writer’s Blog

A Writer's Blog

What do painters do? They paint. What do writers do? They write. We write when we’re sad, when we’re happy, when we’re confused and sometimes even when we’re sick. I’ve had a sick week. Well, it’s nothing earth shattering, just a cold, but I still felt miserable. Yet, sometimes misery spills over to creativity. So I woke up in the middle of the night, one of three nights this week I did that, and thought of a story idea. I wrote it and submitted it. That’s what writers do. They write.

I’ve had two rejections this week. One from Ruminate and one from OneTeen Story. It’s fun to get rejections from One Teen Story because they always tell you they enjoyed your story. The first time I got one I was impressed with myself, now, not so much.

I submitted to two places this week. The first to Daily Science Fiction with my sick story. We’ll see if I write better sick than well. The story is not about me being sick or sickness, by the way. It’s just a flash story that came to mind in the middle of the night when I was wondering how can I stop all these thoughts and get back to sleep.

The second story I submitted was a non-fiction article for Guardian Angel Kids about ice cream. It is for July, which is national ice cream month or something like that. I didn’t even know there was such a thing. I found through researching that article that no online source agrees on the state that consumes the most ice cream. I got anywhere from Alaska, which makes no sense, to Texas to California. Washington, D.C. is supposed to be the city that eats the most ice cream. After spending our vacation there one week in Summer a few years ago with temperatures in the 90’s, I can honestly say I can see why that is.

Thought for the Day: Just like a painter paints from inspiration, write what inspires you. My husband painted this. It is from a three part painting he did, I believe called a tryptic, of heaven, hell and inbetween, this one, Jesus as king.

Leave a Reply

