writer’s blog

writer's blog

Spring is in the air, finally! Spring is a time of rebirth. Hopefully, that will be the case for me and all writers viewing this blog.
I am still reeling from the excitement of last week, being accepted for the March Photo Flare Contest. Unfortunately, I did not have quite the winning week this week. I received two rejections: one from Fiction and Verse for a poem I submitted on the subject of ghosts, in the form of a narrative, sort of. Actually, because I didn’t read the guidelines very thoroughly Fiction and Verse doesn’t accept narrative poetry, so…maybe I’ll have some luck with it elsewhere. My second rejection was from Electric Spec for a short story I have submitted three times so far. We’ll see about the fourth. I did get one little ray of hope. The story I got runner-up for in Melinda’s contest has moved on to Stage 2 at Untied Shoelaces of the Mind. Wish me luck! I didn’t know there was a stage 2 and I don’t know what that means exactly, but it sounds promising.
I submitted two stories this week: One to Highlights. I have tried repeatedly to get a story published there. Of course, it is very, very difficult, but I’m not giving up. I also submitted a story to Contrary. I tried there before with a different story that was rejected. So, we’ll see.
I wanted to plug a book I have plugged on the Enchanted Spark blog. It is called One Year to a Writing Life by Susan M. Tiberghien. This book is 12 lessons, so you ideally do one a month. I really found it helpful and actually published a story after going through one of the chapters. It deals with writing essay, short stories, travelogues, etc. a little bit of everything. Each chapter has practice points, so it is very practical. Anyway, I think it’s a good writing book.
Thought for the day: Switch up your writing. Try literary fiction if you usually do speculative. Try writing a poem or article or even a review on Amazon. I did that this week for a book by Kia Garriques, titled Innovera Yakov: The Journey of a Thousand Eyes. This is a YA book but I recommend it. Have a great writing day!

One thought on “writer’s blog”

Leave a Reply

