Day 14 of a writer’s blog

Well, this has been a very discouraging week.  I got four rejections this week, three were in one day.  I actually figured that would happen because usually when you have a good week with writing, it is followed by a bad one.  When you are at the top of the mountain, there is nowhere to go but down.  Anyway, two of my rejections were from the same place, Encounter.  They let me know they would not be using my story.  The third one was from Beyond Centauri.  He just said he would pass and my last rejection was from Room Magazine, who let me know they get 1200 submissions and mine wasn’t one they accepted. 

      Although it is discouraging, I haven’t let it defeat me.  I submitted three things this week.  I submitted a story to Calvinist Cadets, another to Sparkle and one to Shine Brightly. 

    Despite setbacks, I’m enjoying all my experiences with writing, and hopefully, these will help  me grow to be a better writer.  My thought for the day is: Keep pushing forward.  Backward thinking is not productive.

One thought on “Day 14 of a writer’s blog”

  1. I know the feeling all too well. I got a rejection on Valentine’s Day that had been sitting on his desk for 140 days. He couldn’t wait one more day to send the rejection?? But the pile up of rejections in a short amount of time is the worst.

Leave a Reply

