day 5 of a writer’s blog

  • Today is December 19th and I need to add that my days of a writer’s blog, of course, are not actual days.  They are whenever I write.  I needed to add another rejection to my list for the week from Red Bridge Press for an anthology I submitted to, which story apparently was not right for the anthology.  That is another line often said to writers in rejections, along with I’ll have to pass, and we liked it but…anyway, another failed older audience story.  Sigh!   What sparked my interest in blogging was reading other blogs by writers which encouraged me, notable enchanted spark’s blog, which I really enjoy.  Also, I went back on my word and did submit one thing this week.  I couldn’t pass up a submission to a sentence story anthology.  After all, it is short, 350 words or less, it is different, and it is a challenge.  Actually, I just rewrote something I had written into one sentence.  I had to rework it several times.  Hopefully, the new year will bring success to all writers out there.  My thought for the day is : Don’t beat yourself up over your rejections, make that your Christmas gift to yourself.
2 thoughts on “day 5 of a writer’s blog”

  1. Hey Shari!

    Thanks so much for the shout out! You are brave to take on puppy training…we prefer cats here 🙂 It’s super that you’ve started out the year with some acceptances; I’m still waiting for my first this year. You are proving my theory that hard work and perseverance get you success in any field. I’m so glad to have met you on the internet!

    Melinda

    1. Hi Melinda,
      Thanks so much for reading and commenting on my blog. I believe you are my first. I agree that hard work pays off, but rejections are just a major part of writing. We all have to learn not to take it too personal.
      Shari

Leave a Reply

