Day one of my writer’s blog

I can’t believe that I am calling myself a novice writer because I just counted all my submissions since I began this journey in the beginning of 2011 and I have submitted to 192 places, in order to get 21 acceptances.  I am tired just thinking of it.  Of course, I haven’t written 192 items, but I am pretty sure I’ve written approximately 100 stories, articles and poems.  I’d say 3/4 of these were for children.  I’m working on getting a publishing credit for an older audience but sadly, have yet to achieve it.  So, to begin my blog in honesty as I want to, I had two very disappointing rejections this past week(meaning last 7 days)  One from the kids’ark from a story that was short listed and called “wonderful” and one from TM publishing that I rewrote on their invitation,  Sigh!  I currently have 23 stories out right now waiting for replies from publishers.  I will let you know either way how these come out.  Oh!  Most importantly, my goal since I started was to submitt 2 things(stories, poems or articles) every week.  I give myself a break on my birthday week and certain vacation weeks like Christmas or Easter.  But mostly, I have kept to that goal, hence the 192 submissions.  Well, I think this is enough for my first blog.  Hopefully, some other writers may take heart from this as I take heart from other blogs I have read.  There are more failures than successes.  The key is to never give up. 

Leave a Reply

